Working through my life

Most of the people who will be reading this know me through my love, Storm Silvermane. This is good because you don’t need a whole lot of back story about who we are. The brief version is that he is a transman in the middle of his transition and our life is full and crazy busy most times. Now would be one of those times.

This weekend we are celebrating the babygirl’s birthday (our youngest is 11 and still my baby). This is going to be production because I have the sense the gods gave a toad-frog and must always plan everything elaborately and in minute detail. Yes, I bring this craziness on myself. Yes, I am OCD and anal about details. Yes, I am aware that this is not even what most would call a landmark birthday and it should not be extravagant. It isn’t really going to be extravagant but it has to be done right. Shut up.

Anyway, on top of the birthday planning, we have a HUGE Pride event coming up the following weekend and there are about two million and two details that still need to be taken care of and about 3 or 4 people actually working toward getting things done….can you see the bald spot? No? Keep checking.

On top of all of that craziness, I completely lost my freaking mind one day a couple of weeks ago and enrolled myself in a Master’s program. Yes, I wanted and needed to go back to school. Yes, the program is what I want and awesome. Yes, I had to enroll then to take advantage of some serious savings on books and such. Yes, Storm encouraged me and said we would work it out no matter what. Still….What the HELL was I thinking???

Oh, and did I mention the eldest daughter is getting ready to go back to college next weekend on the day of one of our biggest events? Or that the little one starts school the Monday right after Pride week ends? Or that in the midst of the craziness Loki or Coyote decided to get cute and wrench Storm’s ankle badly enough to make him practically immobile in the middle of all of this? Let’s not forget the all important every day living stuff like laundry, cleaning, cooking (which I have to do the majority of with Storm down and the other adults in this house being….slothlike…in nature), and all of the meetings and shopping that must take place to prepare the upcoming events?

I am a little overwhelmed and slightly exhausted. Though my load isn’t quite as bad as yours, Sacha, I can relate. We have so much going on that I go through periods where I simply shut down and decide it is going to be an “I don’t give a **** day” and have to force myself to move past it. Today is one of those days. I got the necessary school work done. I have been on the phone off and on all day dealing with birthday details. We are constantly dealing with something to do with Pride while multitasking other things. We are also constantly worrying about money for everything…like most people…but we make it through.

I apologize for the vent but I needed it. I will be sure to write something regarding life with my transgender husband soon because he feels it could be helpful to others. I often tell him I don’t think our relationship is really any different but he says it is…lol…so…more on that soon.

Peace and blessings.

2 thoughts on “Working through my life

  1. I duno Angel ur sure giving me a run for my money in terms of busy!! Why dp we do it to ourselves hey?!! I hope the party goes well this weekend 🙂 x

  2. It’s nice to “meet” you, Angel. Just some thoughts on this: “I will be sure to write something regarding life with my transgender husband soon because he feels it could be helpful to others. I often tell him I don’t think our relationship is really any different but he says it is…lol…so…more on that soon.” I think these parts that aren’t so different from the life of typical folks are important. People who have no exposure to lesbian/gay/bisexual/trans* individuals tend to think about the LGBTQmunity in terms of sexual acts and/or body parts. It’s stories like this that show that transgender and gay people are *people* just like everyone else — working, paying bills, tripping over the pets, raising a family. Of course the info specific to being in a relationship with a trans guy is going to be really helpful to some people, but the posts where strangers are reading and don’t even realize Storm is trans at first because your family sounds so familiar to them — i think those are the really important posts.
    Anyway, i look forward to reading more from you!
    =) Karen

Leave a comment