Venting and other stuff…

So I just read my husband’s post and heard him sound off when he read the article about the transwoman in prison who had all of her transition surgeries and therapies paid for through the system. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t grudge anyone else what they need to feel right within their bodies. I do have a problem with the sheer inequality that we see in the treatment of prisoners in this country and the poor who are trying to live right and do right.

My mother was a nurse for a couple of years (which is as long as she could handle it) in a county jail in FL. I know from her experiences the type of coverage and medical attention that prisoners in our system enjoy. First off, let me say that I totally agree that prisoners should receive medical care while incarcerated. My issue is with the degree of medical care that is not earned. My take is that anyone who landed themselves in the prison system should damn well work for everything they get just like the rest of us have to. If you want dental work beyond what it takes to just keep you healthy enough to eat solid food, work and freaking pay for it. If you want medical care beyond what it takes to keep you alive and in reasonable health, then get out there and sweat and freaking earn it. If we don’t get all of this medical care for free while we are out here doing the right thing, then those who refuse to live by the basic rules of society damn well shouldn’t either.

My other issue is the whole marriage thing. People in this country raise the roof and act a fool over the idea of legalizing gay marriage but the guy who murdered your sister? Nope, he has the right to marry, in prison, on the tax payers’ dime, and if in the right facility, get regular nookie with the new wife. The man who molested you as a child? He has the right to marry in prison too…if you managed to get him there. I think I will leave this one at that before my tangent gets out of hand. Let’s just say I hope you feel me on this.

In other news, I am getting frustrated with myself. I am trying very hard to generate motivation when I seem to not have any. This has become a pretty standard pattern for me and I am horribly sick of it. I don’t understand it and I have days when I am very gung ho and ready to go and manage to get a ton of work done. Then I just seem to hit this slump. Don’t get me wrong, I still do what I have to and I manage to work through it so that things get accomplished. I get my papers written, I get Alliance work done, I get housework done, yada yada. I just really have to push myself while in these slumps to get it done and the fact that it becomes such a chore, that I have to focus so much energy just on talking myself into getting off my ass and doing it, really grates on my damn nerves. I am having one of those days today. It is Monday. I have a paper due. I got up, recognized the signs, and immediately went into cleaning and organizing mode in an attempt to waylay the slump. I was doing laundry before I poured my first cup of coffee. I cleaned the kitchen. Stripped the bed and all that. Took the baby to the dentist (poor thing had a baby tooth that refused to come out even though the adult tooth was pushing through the skin and we had to have it pulled). I came home and said “Ok, I will chill a bit and then get on my paper”. That was hours ago. Still don’t want to freaking do it. Still want to take Storm and the baby in the bedroom and cuddle and watch movies and say the hell with it.

Unfortunately, that isn’t an option in a Master’s program. If my grades slip, I lose my funding. So…I will slap my motivator on the ass and get to it. 

Peace and love yall.

One thought on “Venting and other stuff…

  1. But first, her Husband is going to take her and the baby out to dinner, then come home and get the paper done and chill with the baby in the bedroom. Love you baby and love your support.

Leave a comment